Inside the Box

Sometimes we stand looking into the box, but other times we are inside the box and they are looking in.

We humans tend to assume that we are always outside looking into the cage, and the only time we are encaged we have been put there (whether literally and phyically, or metaphysically) by other humans.

But I don’t think that’s true.

Our analytical suite has windows round three sides, and a rooftop extending beyond the glass on one. It wouldn’t be uncommon for me to find myself sitting there, concentrating away at a computer and look up to see a bunch of pigeons bundled on the roof by the sill, staring in at me. I wonder what they’re thinking about this human creature who has voluntarily put herself on display for their entertainment? I wonder what they think about the box I am so fascinated with, and whether they think there is something living inside it I am looking at, whilst they are out in the world looking in at my box.

About RowenaFW

I am a Fish. But you wouldn't know it just from looking at me.
This entry was posted in A Passing Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

